Skip to main content

Research Events

Workshops

Each of the four years of the Project, we will be hosting a workshop on a particular “domain” of applied epistemology. The first, in September 2022, was on the epistemology of the media; the second, in September 2023, will be on the epistemology of science communication. Future topics may include the epistemology of democratic politics, the epistemology of the law, the epistemology of tech, and the epistemology of education. Each workshop aims to bring together philosophers and social scientists working on related issues to learn from each other.

First workshop (2022): The Epistemology of the Media

Second workshop (2023): The Epistemology of Science Communication

Works-in-Progress Series

We also run an occasional lunchtime works-in-progress series featuring short talks by Project Fellows and others passing through town.

Spring 2024 Schedule [all sessions in Caldwell 213, all speakers UNC unless otherwise noted]

Monday, January 22, 11:45-12:45: Ripley Stroud, “Lessons from Online Disagreement”

Monday, February 5, 11:45-12:45: Shannon McGregor, “A Review and Provocation: On Polarization and Platforms”

Monday, March 4, 11:45-12:45: Matt Kotzen, “Standards of Proof for Affirmative Defenses”

Monday, April 1, 11:45-12:45: Conner Schultz, “Immanent Skepticism, Followability, and Epistemic Insurance Policies”

Monday, April 8, 11:45-12:45: Gabe Avakian Orona (Tübingen), “Cognition and Character: Embedding and Evaluating Epistemic Virtues in the University Curriculum”

Monday, April 22, 11:45-12:45: Laura Soter (Duke), “Acceptance, Encroachment, and Profiling Beliefs”

 

Fall 2023 Schedule [all sessions in Graham Student Union Room 2422, all speakers UNC unless otherwise noted]

Thursday, September 7, 11:30-12:30: Tim Ryan, “Understanding the Other Side: Evidence from an Ideological Imitation Game”

Thursday, October 5, 11:30-12:30: Alice Marwick, “Shapeshifters and Starseeds: Identity, Epistemology, and Disinformation in Conspiracy TikTok”

Thursday, October 26, 11:30-12:30: Ben Eva & Reuben Stern (Duke), “Presumptions of Innocence”

Thursday, November 9, 11:30-12:30: Ángel Pinillos (Arizona State), “Can Philosophical Skeptical Doubt Lead to Humility in Inquiry?”

Thursday, November 30, 11:30-12:30: Molly O’Rourke-Friel, “What Can Radicalization Tell Us About Epistemic Normativity?”

 

Spring 2023 Schedule [all sessions in Caldwell 213; all speakers UNC unless otherwise noted]

Thursday, January 26, 11:30-12:30: Ripley Stroud, “When Disagreement Sours: An Analysis of Gaslighting”

Thursday, February 16, 11:30-12:30: Z Quanbeck, “Against Political Inquiry”

Thursday, March 30, 11:30-12:30: Giulia Napolitano, “Belief Revision, Belief-Centered Groups, and Echo Chambers”

Thursday, April 13, 11:30-12:30: Emily McWilliams (Duke Kunshan), “Epistemic Hijacking and the Role of Motivation in Joint Inquiry”

Thursday, April 27, 11:30-12:30: Kurt Gray, “Epistemic Arrogance”

 

Fall 2022 Schedule [all sessions in Caldwell 213; all speakers UNC unless otherwise noted]

Thursday, September 22, 12-1: Luc Bovens, “Demographic Sorting in the US”

Thursday, October 6, 12-1: Devin Lane, “When and How to Respond to Unpossessed Evidence”

Tuesday, November 8, 11:30-12:30: Genae Matthews, “Fit-Related Reasons to Inquire”

Tuesday, November 29, 11:30-12:30: Jeff Greene (joint work with Christy Hollander-Blackmon, Eric Kirk, and Victor Deekins), “What are They Thinking?! Relating College Students’ Thinking to their Decision-Making about COVID-19 (Mis)Information on Social Media”

Thursday, December 8, 12-1: Stephanie Leary (McGill), “The Ethics of Belief Debate and the Applied, Moral Turn”

A mirror image of a man walking in two different directions